About Us

About Us

The Cowichan District Teachers' Association is a local of the British Columbia Teachers' Federation. The BCTF is a democratically structured organization which was established in 1917. It is the union of professionals representing 41,000 public school teachers in the province of British Columbia, Canada. All public school teachers belong to the BCTF and their local Teachers' Association.

Our Objectives

The Cowichan District Teachers’ Association (CDTA) represents teachers who work in 28 schools in School District #79 (excluding Lake Cowichan), serving approximately 8000 students.

The objectives of the CDTA are:

  • to foster and promote the cause of public education.
  • to raise the status of the teaching profession.
  • to promote the professional development, working conditions and welfare of its CDTA members.
  • to represent its members and to regulate relations with their employer through collective bargaining of terms & conditions.
  • to organize and administer such activities and funds as will assist in providing the above objectives, in order to foster effective teaching and appropriate learning conditions as approved by our profession.

Social Justice

Under Construction

Our Communities

The CDTA has members teaching students from a multitude of communities included in the Cowichan Valley Regional District, North Cowichan Municipality, the City of Duncan and First Nations communities:

  • Chemainus
  • Cobble Hill
  • Cowichan Bay
  • Cowichan Station
  • Cowichan Tribes
  • Crofton
  • Duncan
  • Glenora
  • Halalt
  • Lyackson
  • Malahat
  • Metis
  • Mill Bay
  • Penelakut
  • Saltair
  • Sahtlam
  • Shawnigan Lake
  • Stz’uminus
  • Thetis Island

Students from these communities represent a diverse and multi-ethnic population.